The "Green Movement" - Connecting to your Heart

We often hear reference to the “green movement” all over the place these days. When people mention 'green' we usually understand it to be linked to one of the following: the green political party, greening places with trees and using green 'renewable' energy. I would like to share another understanding of 'the green movement' as I see it:  That is connecting to your heart. Why?  It seems in this fast, modern, urban, ego-centred way of life we are very good at living life from our intellect and heads. In order to live sustainably, connect back to the environment, have empathy for living creatures and our communities we need to first and foremost connect to our hearts (in simple language look within ourselves).

I think the 'green' movement as we commonly know it, is very good at externalising the sustainability issues: "the climate", "our environment", "social isolation" etc. However, there is not enough focus on the internal world issues: "our way of living", "everyday behaviours" and "our wellbeing". It just so happens that the colour of the heart charka energy centre on the ancient Sanskrit body chart happens to be Green. So lets explore what connecting to your heart really means....

There is a difference between the knowing of the intellect and the knowing of the Heart. Mental acrobatics can make the mind more flexible and prepare it to leap out of its confinement of established perceptions and meanings, which are really only opinions. The Heart does not need to participate in acrobatics. The Heart is limitless. Swami Sivananda Radha, Light & Vibration.

Green - the heart chakra colour is composed of yellow and blue in equal parts. Green is a colour of love. It is at the very centre of your being: The heart centre. Green is the energy of love and transformation. It allows you to transform your ego and the needs of your lower chakras and open up to love.

Picture 32

According to ancient Sanskrit tradition, everyone has seven energy centres called chakras that serve as junction points between the body and consciousness, or between matter and the mind. Chakras in Sanskrit, receive, assimilate and express our vital life energy. When the flow of energy in one or more of the chakras becomes blocked, we may develop physical and mental illnesses.

The ancient people perceived the chakra system as a column of energy centres that extend from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The location of each chakra loosely corresponds to an area of the body’s anatomy and is associated with a specific colour. The following description provides more detail about the seven chakras and their Sanskrit names:

First Chakra

First Chakra

Muladhara (red)

Located at the base of the spine, the first energy centre, sometimes called “the root chakra,” relates to our most basic survival needs and our sense of belonging, whether to our family or a larger group. When this chakra is clear and energy flows through it freely, we feel secure and confident that we can easily fulfil our needs. On the other hand, blockage in this area can cause us to feel anxious and worried.

This chakra, which connects us to the earth, gives us vital information about whether actions we’re considering will nourish us or pose a threat. When we have a decision to make, we can listen to the signals of the root chakra: Uncomfortable sensations are a message to be alert and reconsider, while pleasant feelings indicate that a given course of action is likely to meet our needs for safety and nourishment.

Second Chakra

Second Chakra

Svadhisthana (orange)

This chakra resides in reproductive area and is associated with creativity and birth―both literally to a new baby but also metaphorically to new aspects of ourselves, projects and ideas. When this chakra is healthy, we’re tapped into the source of higher energy that helps us write beautiful music, develop an innovative business, or create a loving family life. When this chakra becomes congested, we may experience a block in our creative powers and a sense of dryness or emptiness.

Third Chakra

Third Chakra

Manipura (yellow)

The third chakra, which governs our will, self-esteem and sense of personal power, is located in the solar plexus. When energy flows freely through this center, we’re confident about our ability to manifest our intentions and desires. When the third chakra is blocked, however, we feel powerless and frustrated.

Fourth Chakra

Fourth Chakra

Anahata (green)

This energy centre is sometimes referred to as the "heart chakra” because it resonates in the heart and relates to compassion and love. When the fourth chakra is flowing and open, we feel deeply connected to everyone in our life. But when it’s obstructed, we experience loneliness and a sense of alienation.

Fifth Chakra

Fifth Chakra

Vishuddha (blue)

This energy center is localised in the throat area and relates to communication and self-expression . . . the ability to voice our dreams. When our center of communication is clear, we’re able to express our truth without worrying about what others may think. In contrast, with a congested fifth chakra, we feel anxious about how other people will react to our views and are likely to censor ourselves.

Sixth Chakra

Sixth Chakra

Ajna (indigo)

The sixth chakra, also known as the ‘brow chakra” or the “third eye” is located between the eyes. It’s the center of insight, where we integrate all the information and intuition in our life. When energy isn’t flowing easily through this chakra, we have a sense of self-doubt and distrust. When it’s open and clear, we feel deeply connected to our inner wisdom and trust that it guides us in our choices.

Seventh Chakra

Seventh chakra

Sahaswara (violet)

This chakra resides at the crown of the head and is therefore sometimes called the “crown chakra.” It connects us to higher consciousness and pure awareness. The seventh chakra is known as the “Thousand Petaled Lotus,” which bursts open when we remember our true nature and experience enlightenment.

Thank you to Chopra and Chakra Anatomy for the references to knowledge about Chakras

Thank you to my Yoga teacher Nancy for inspiring me to connect to my heart.

To stay in touch with Urban Reforestation events and news visit our Facebook page and Website.